Greetings from Kerala, India

Standard

Hi Everyone!

I have left CMC Vellore and  is now in Kerala for the weekend. The train ride from Vellore to Kerala was about 14 hours and it was a rough. This was the first time I had ever been on a train and I’m not sure if I’m ready to ride it back to Chennai from Kerala, but I will have to be prepared by tomorrow. There were roaches and tiny bugs all over the place. I just couldn’t sleep knowing they were there, so I stayed up all night as the exterminator. My childhood memories with roaches haunted me the entire train ride, no way was I going to give these roaches any mercy. One memory that I vividly remember  and will never forget was a rude awakening when a fat pregnant roach crawled into my ear when I was sleeping at the age of eight. I remember feeling something crawl into my ear  late at night so I immediately  checked. I didn’t want it to crawl further into my ear so I killed it, luckily it wasn’t in my ear canal. Roach guts all over my fingers and ear, ekk. From then on, I became the roach exterminator. I never thought that I would have to face this army again, but I did what I had to do, kept myself calm and had my shoe ready. I will use this weekend to relax and prepare myself for another long train (about 15 hours) ride back to Chennai.

After my train ride experience I was so happy to be greeted by a man playing the flute, coconuts with a straw and women with flowers at the Coconut Lagoon. We arrived here by boat because it was the only way to get here, this place is amazing. The whole time I have been in India it has felt like a dream and this was no different. During my tour in northern India I thought buffets couldn’t get any larger and more delicious than this but they are even more grand here in southern India. I ate well and it got even better when we were gifted with 1 hour massages. This was the first time I ever had a massage and wow….I didn’t see any of it coming but it was an amazing once in a lifetime experience. Let’s leave it at that :)

Well, I have one week left of school here in India :( and my last stop  will be at Sri Ramachandra University in Chennai. I am excited for this week since this is the first time I will get to observe dentists in India. While I was at CMC Vellore they were not able to make arrangements for me to be in the dental clinic so I was in the pediatric department instead. I am so happy that happened though because the people who I met taught me so much and I was able to learn more about myself . I am now more certain of what I want in life and how I will choose to live it. I look forward to going home with the knowledge and experiences I gained here to create my future. I miss all of you and hope that you are well!

4 responses »

  1. Hi Lan! I am back fro New York and back to work!

    I have been reading your blog and enjoying it. :) Thanks for trying to keep up with it! You are doing a great job! I have you learn a lot more and have even more fun the last week of your trip!!

    I will see you when you get back! Hugs…….Claribel

  2. Hi Lan! I just got back from vacation in the Sierra Nevada mountains of California :)
    So happy to hear that you are having an AMAZING time on your trip (minus train roaches!–ick!)
    Looking forward to your return and many stories of your journey!

    Cheers!!!
    -jen

  3. Sounds like you need some cotton to put in your ears. . . I don’t think I could have fallen asleep either regardless of being named Roach Terminator! In your last post you mentioned that the milk was warm – is that the norm there for cereal milk? Sounds like you have some good stories to share when you get back and pictures! Can’t wait. – Gangnam style :P

  4. Lan, I’m so glad you are having such a good experience there. That’s interesting that you are getting your first train experience there. I hope it won’t scare you away from one here! Anyways, you’ll come back with plenty of memories and stories to tell- I look forward to reading and hearing more!

Leave a Reply

